News Details

Library awarded grant to assist job seekers

(Mullica Hill, NJ) – The Gloucester County Library System (GCLS) has been awarded a grant of $59,591 from the New Jersey Department of Labor Division of Workforce Development. The grant supports free classes and programs designed to assist job seekers in finding employment.

Freeholder Director Robert M. Damminger said, "This grant will assist job seekers by offering free classes for those who want to earn a High School Equivalency diploma or to improve their English Language skills and for those who need assistance with resumes, interview skills and other techniques.  The library staff collaborated with Rowan College at Gloucester County to obtain this award."

Freeholder Lyman Barnes, liaison to the Gloucester County Library System (GCLS), said, “Our community libraries are user-friendly centers where residents can take advantage of the services taught by instructors from Rowan College at Gloucester County.”  Barnes said that Programs in job-seeking skills are open to everyone, and are free of charge.

At the GCLS Glassboro Library, the grant will provide free classes for those who want to earn a High School Equivalency diploma or to improve their English Language skills.  GCLS will also offer programs designed to help job seekers improve their resumes, interview skills, and other skills needed to navigate the modern job market. Instructors will teach all classes and programs from Rowan College at Gloucester County.

Anyone interested in High School Equivalency or ESL instruction should visit the GCLS Glassboro Library at 2 Center Street in Glassboro, or call the library at 856-881-0001, to schedule an appointment for assessment tests prior to joining a class.

Programs in job-seeking skills are open to everyone, and are free of charge. Advance registration is required. These classes are intended to prepare participants for job fairs coming up in the fall.

To register call 856-223-6033, email pmcall@gcls.org, or visit the library. 

Basics of Job Searching

Learn about modern job search techniques, including how to navigate job search websites and how to submit online job applications.

Mullica Hill Branch - Monday, August 14 at 6:30 pm
Glassboro Branch - Monday, September 18 at 6:30 pm
Greenwich Branch - Tuesday, August 15 at 10:30 am
Logan Branch - Thursday, August 10 at 6:30 pm
Swedesboro Branch - Monday, August 21 at 10:30 am 

The Modern Resume

Update and retool your resume for the 2017 job market.  Learn the different aspects of resumes.  Examples of resumes for specific career fields will be provided.

Mullica Hill Branch - Monday, October 2 at 6:30 pm
Glassboro Branch - Monday, September 25 at 6:30 pm
Greenwich Branch - Monday, August 28 at 6:30 pm
Logan Branch - Wednesday, August 23 at 10:30 am
Swedesboro Branch - Thursday, August 31 at 1:00 pm 

Interviewing Skills

Get interviewing tips, examples of questions, and the chance to practice for phone and in-person job interviews.

Mullica Hill Branch - Wednesday, September 13 at 10:30 am
Glassboro Branch - Tuesday, October 3 at 6:30 pm
Greenwich Branch - Friday, September 15 at 10:30 am
Logan Branch - Tuesday, September 5 at 10:30 am
Swedesboro Branch - Monday, September 11 at 1:00 pm 

Networking and Job Fairs

Meeting people in person is still one of the most effective ways to make connections toward a future career.  Gain insight on how to network, both offline and online, and how to navigate a job fair and nail that first impression.

Mullica Hill Branch - Thursday, September 21 at 6:30 pm
Glassboro Branch - Monday, October 9 at 6:30 pm
Greenwich Branch - Wednesday, September 27 at 1:30 pm
Logan Branch - Thursday, September 28 at 6:30 pm
Swedesboro Branch - Tuesday, October 10 at 1:00 pm
###