News Details

17th Annual Gloucester County Military Service Medal Ceremony

96 County Veterans will be honored

For Immediate Release: September 12, 2017
Contact: Freeholder Director Robert Damminger (856) 853-3395
Freeholder Giuseppe (Joe) Chila (856-853-3382)

17th Annual Gloucester County Military Service Medal Ceremony 96 County Veterans will be honored

(West Deptford, NJ) –The Gloucester County Board of Chosen Freeholders will host the 17th Annual Military Service Medal Ceremony on Saturday, Sept. 16, 2017 at 11 am, at RiverWinds Community Center in West Deptford.

Freeholder Director Robert M. Damminger said, “This ceremony is the County’s way of thanking our veterans for serving our country with honor, dignity and pride.”

Damminger said that since the Board of Chosen Freeholders commissioned the Military Service medal in 2001 and after this year’s ceremony, over 5,700 medals will have been presented to the men and woman who have so bravely and selflessly served our nation.

Freeholder Deputy Director Giuseppe (Joe) Chila, Liaison to the County Office of Veterans Affairs said, “The Gloucester County Military Service Medal represents a small token of our gratitude to all the brave and courageous serviceman and woman and their commitment to America’s values and way of life.”

Chila said, Gloucester County operates a full time Veterans Affairs Office; a full-time VA Health Clinic; and is the home to the Gloucester County Veterans Memorial Cemetery where over 3000 eligible veterans, their spouses or dependents have been laid to rest.

The ceremony is open to the public and should last approximately one hour.

The veterans being honored are:

Leo P. Anderson
Albert J. Andrews
Leandro A. Aragoncillo
Bryan M. Baldwin
Michael V. Bandoch
Christopher M. Blizzard
Nicholas M. Brandemarte
Eugene E. Brewer
Howard W. Bruner
Brian A. Calloway
Louis Capelli
Michael A. D'Ariano
Harold A. Davis Jr.
Michael E. DiBenedetto Jr.
Hugo A. Di Bona
Vito N. DiGiovacchino
Thomas E. Dougherty
Theodore C. Ernwood
Keith P. Faragasso
Nicholas C. Ferrett
Robert A. Fleming
Diane M. Flynn
Eric A. Frias
*Byron L. Gillette II
Gary L. Grenier
William R. Gunning Jr.
Michael J. Harrison
Charles E. Hartley Jr.
Ronald W. Herbert Sr.
Ralph A. Herman
Wesley Hill
Robert V. Hoell
Kenneth K. Huhn Jr.
William J. Jacobs
*John W. Jagielski
Roy E. Jones Jr.
John W. Kinkaid
Edward R. Kliniewski
*Richard B. Knight
Christopher T. Lach
Vincent J. Leonetti III
John A. Lewis
Anthony G. Losito
John K. Mack
Jaime Colon-Maldonado
Joseph J. Marietta
Anthony J. Mastrogiacomo
George E. May Jr.
Joseph M. McCaughey
Domenic L. Melchiorre
Samuel Mercado
Joseph P. Micklasavage
Charles E. Miller
Joseph W. Mingin
Bil C. Morgan
Robert E. Myers Jr.
Arthur D. Nayote
Steven A. Niedbalski
Wendy C. Nolan
Walter F. Nuss
Juan M. Otero
*John M. Pelc
*Edward F. Pietrzak
Ralph J. Presley
*Thomas Righter
Allen F. Riley
Vincent E. Robinson
Anthony L. Rogers
*Nelson F. Rose
*Frank J. Rossi
Darren R. Rothmaller
Reynaldo R. Sabater
Martin R. Salcone
Mark A. Sanford
Francis R. Schwartz Jr.
Richard L. Scott
Terrill A. Scott
Ruben R. Seda-Morales Jr.
William L. Shivy
Victor R. Simonin
Kenneth B. Smith Sr.
Stephen H. Smith
Stephen J. Sonnon
*James H. Spence Sr.
*Michael E. Stockinger
John R. Strom
Robert M. Struss Jr.
*Richard F. Sunderland Sr.
Gilbert F. Sweet
Anthony J. Szymendera
Joseph P. Towey
Richard J. Ulzheimer
Joseph A. Warrick
Harvey White
*James J. Winn
George R. Young

*Posthumously Awarded