News Details

County Included in Federal Declaration for Hurricane Irene

Residents with damages can apply for disaster assistance

(Clayton, NJ) – Gloucester County Freeholder Director Robert M. Damminger and Freeholder Giuseppe (Joe) Chila announced that Gloucester County has been included in the federal declaration for hurricane Irene by President Obama.  FEMA encourages all individuals who have damages or have had to evacuate because of a federally declared disaster to apply for disaster assistance. 

The Freeholders said that eligibility allows residents to apply for different types of assistance, including temporary housing, repair, replacement or other needs such as Disaster Unemployment Assistance, and Small Business Administration disaster loans.

There are three ways to register for FEMA/state assistance.  

You may register online at, or Call the toll-free registration number at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362).  If you have a speech disability or hearing loss and use a TTY, call 1-800-462-7585 directly; if you use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS), call 1-800-621-3362.

 A Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) will be established no later than Saturday September 10, 2011.  The role of this operation is to provide citizens the opportunity to meet with FEMA and Small Business Administration reps face-to-face. The DRC will be located in the Government Services Building, 1200 North Delsea Drive, Clayton.  The hours of operation will be 8 am to 6 pm, 7 days a week.  Personnel at the DRC can assist in the registration process.  

 After you register, you will receive a pamphlet in the mail titled, "Help After A Disaster, An Applicant's Guide to the Individuals and Households Program." Please read it carefully; this pamphlet should answer most of your questions and provide information about other programs that may be able to assist in your recovery efforts.